Multiple DUI Defense Lawyer in Phoenix

If you are convicted of a second or subsequent DUI in Arizona, the penalties are harsh. Mandatory jail time, loss of license, major financial consequences – these are just a few of the possibilities. And your sentence will increase with each subsequent conviction. Protect yourself and your future by contacting an experienced Phoenix DUI attorney for defense of your DUI case.

In order to be counted as a prior conviction, the DUI must have occurred within eighty-four months of the current conviction. This is known as the “look back period.” For purposes of this provision of Arizona law, it is the date of the offense – and not the date of the conviction – that is the determining factor. An out of state conviction will also count as a prior if the offense would have been classified as a DUI if committed in Arizona.

Second DUI Conviction

Assume you are charged with driving under the influence within eighty-four months of a prior DUI. While a conviction on the new charge, absent additional factors, will still be a misdemeanor, your sentence generally will include the following:

  • Driver’s license suspension of one year.
  • A minimum jail sentence of 90 days. While a portion of the sentence may be suspended upon successful completion of a drug and/or alcohol program, you will spend time in jail.
  • Fines and assessment of approximately $3,000 or more.
  • Probation of up to five years.
  • Ignition interlock device.

As you can see, the penalties increase with the second conviction for driving under the influence. In addition, depending upon your blood alcohol content (BAC), you could face even harsher penalties. A second conviction for extreme or super extreme dui could result in additional jail time and a longer license suspension

Third or Subsequent Drunk or Drugged Driving Conviction

If you have two or more prior DUI convictions, the next one will be charged as aggravated driving under the influence, a class 4 felony in our state. The issue is no longer whether you have to spend a few days in jail. Here is what you can expect if you are convicted:

  • Months in state prison.
  • Mandatory license revocation.
  • Assessments, fines, prison costs and treatment and other costs totaling tens of thousands of dollars.
  • Probation.
  • Ignition interlock device.

Defending Your Second or Subsequent Phoenix DUI Case

Even if this is your first DUI charge, a conviction will lead to huge penalties. The defense of any DUI case requires an experienced lawyer who understands how to spot weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case. But where there are multiple DUI’s, the stakes are substantially higher. For example, a few days of jail time might be manageable in terms of your employment, but months in jail will likely cost you your job. If this is your third DUI, a conviction will also brand you as a felon for the rest of your life.

These are serious consequences, and they call for serious action. Contact the law firm that specializes in defending clients charged with drunk driving. Call the Law Office of Bret A. Royle today for a free consultation. Remember that you are innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

Free & Confidential Case Evaluation